Mentality of a Messiah 5

Mentality of a Messiah 5

Please hurry…

When driving in Buenos Aires whoever is carrying more speed into an intersection generally has the right of way. If your vehicle is really big (or old, like mine) then you also can enjoy right of way status. I’ve seen power passing into the oncoming traffic lane countless times. Sometimes, if you don’t run the red light, you might get rear ended by someone on your bumper expecting this kind of behavior.

Once in a while though, you get behind a really slow driver. How does this make me react? I’m usually in a hurry, so I get restless. I am temped to honk or pass or at least fume impatiently.

But what if I was following my boss in the car ahead of me? Or what if it was my mother? Or a king? How would may attitude be then? I would be respectful and humble of course.

That’s how Jesus works. He’s always behind us, waiting on us. Respectfully. Humbly. He treats us like kings.

Follow the true King. Let him show you the most excellent way.

6 comments on “Mentality of a Messiah 5

  1. God has been at work on that humble part of me it comes up short most of the time! Great reminder God Bless! 🙂

  2. This article remembers me the walk to E mmaus: Then their eyes were opened, and they recognised him … They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the scriptures to us?” – Luke 24:31-32 . Jesus is always with us, but we cannot recognize him.

  3. Denise says:

    Your words struck my heart! My parents are elderly and have health concerns yet are still able to drive. Yes, my father drives cautiously, and when people honk at him it rattles him terribly. Thank you for a thoughtful post and a good reminder to exercise patience and kindness.

Leave a comment