Stand Still

Stand stillWe sometimes wonder: how can God allow the world’s atrocities to occur? Why the suffering, killing, torture, and fear? I don’t have an answer, but I do offer a reflection.

Viktor Frankl was a WWII concentration camp survivor, psychiatrist, and writer. Early in Frankl’s book, Man’s Search For Meaning, he makes an astonishing statement. Frankl says that ALL the good people died in the camps. Every last one.

Here’s the reflection: The greatest evil is conquered by an even greater good.

So I imagine the scenario. The camp prison guard is approaching my group. I know that if I don’t move, I will be taken and executed. If I move, maybe even just a little bit, another person will be taken instead. What do I do?

Can I stand still?

For how much less do I move out of the line of fire in my life? How often do I flee to protect my ego and insecurity? Is this the life I want to save?

Father, give me the strength to hold my ground as did your Son. Let me lose my life. In obedience to you.

“He who finds his life will lose it, and he who loses his life for My sake will find it.” (Matthew 10:39)

Image source (modified).

2 comments on “Stand Still

  1. Non stop praying this prayer. I am weak. I can barely stand and so I RUN to God every minute hoping I will be prepared for the real battle I may one day face. God Bless you, your wife and all your littles.

Leave a comment