Who is my neighbor?

Who is my neighbor?Any effort we put forth to help our neighbor makes a difference… or does it?

We don’t have to sacrifice everything and live in the slums of New York, Buenos Aires or Karachi, but we must move out of our comfort zone to make a difference.

If you feel moved to give, then give.

If you feel moved to have a coffee with a friend or family member in need, then pick up the phone.

The Spirit calls out to us constantly. We just have to listen.

The more you sacrifice, the more you suffer on behalf of others — the greater the impact. If it costs you little, it is not likely to help much. Give of yourself.

We all want to change the world, but many times we don’t want to be part of the world that needs help. When we move out of our comfort zone, we must rely on God to move forward. The farther we move out, the more we seek God. When we immerse ourselves in a place of need, the Spirit has much greater access to heal and to help.

This does not mean ignore the wisdom of prudence, but a bigger mistake would be to ignore the call.

Run a bit of risk.

Risk the discomfort, the loss of personal time or money. Give what appears difficult for you to give. It starts with giving mercy and forgiveness.

We do a good job of exalting Christ, but we hedge our bets when it comes to imitating him. I do not believe in faith based on works or good deeds, but I do believe that faith in Jesus produces works of miraculous proportions.

It might mean just hugging someone you have not hugged for years.

Or maybe just saying “I love you”.

Image LicenseAttributionShare Alike Some rights reserved by Dawn Endico.

2 comments on “Who is my neighbor?

  1. A Servant says:

    What was it James said… I’ll show you my faith by my works.
    It’s not about working to get saved, it is working because we are saved.
    Your post is spot on, but will we heed it? Do we see the fields white unto harvest? Are we willing to pay the price for another man’s gain?
    I do not say this rashly, I am. How can I not? What will it cost me? What will it cost me not to? Heavenly Father, I’ll go.

Leave a Reply

