I reject these people

I reject the disrespectful. I reject the liar and the hypocrite. I reject the thief, the corrupt and the ungrateful. I reject the vain. I reject the traitor. I reject the violent, the impatient, the arrogant and the selfish.

I do not accept these persons. And when I see this behavior in the ones I love it drives me crazy. But what happens when I observe myself in these roles that fill me with disgust?

Jesus accepts everyone. Can I obey his invitation to follow him in these cases?

No. I can’t. I try to, but the moment always arrives where my “This Can Not Be” is much stronger than the limited mercy that comes from my heart. And when I reach my limit my desire to condemn approaches a desire to kill. On one hand, my reaction is just because it is against the things that cause much harm.

For God, the rejection is infinitely more intense because God is pure goodness.

But the Father says, “Justly for the most repulsive things in you, I send my Son.”

And Jesus says, “Justly for the ugliest things in all, I give my life.”

And the Spirit says, “Justly for the darkest things in you, I call you to the Son.”

When I understand this, it’s not like all of the sudden I can completely accept all the evil that I see in myself and the world. But I can begin to be humble.

And I can honor God with a river of praise for the perfection of his mighty love in Jesus Christ.

9306904421_a09e3c77a4_z

Photo credit: jubileelewishttp://www.flickr.com/photos/77601953@N03/9306904421/

8 comments on “I reject these people

  1. Tahlitha says:

    Hi my friend. What a Savior we have, who takes all that weighs us down to lift us up. God bless you.

  2. Mitch Curtis says:

    I’m so glad I’m not alone!

  3. Jason says:

    God says that we can hate what is evil…Romans 12:9…Let you love be sincere, but hate what is evil…You don’t have to accept it, banish it to hell where it belongs! – Just a thought🙂

    • Vince Chough says:

      thanks Jason… God bless you!

      • Mitch says:

        Wheat and Tares!
        My problem has been like the Angel’s problem, I wanted to go and root them out.
        Only God knows which will ultimately be Evil.
        My reaction to this Article has been one of humility and a recognition of our Father’s Mercy toward me which increases my desire to be open to do the same to others.
        Time for Judgement will come.
        Today it’s the Mercy Seat.

      • Vince Chough says:

        Thanks Mitch… we all need mercy, that’s for sure. Many blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

