Brilliant ideas

“The truth is, I love you, but your brilliant project is not what interests me. I am interested in your heart. I am interested in true humility. For how long are you going to ignore me? How many times are you going to put on the mask of service when your true motive is ambition? If you worship power, glory or money… I am not interested at all.”

How many times has God spoken to me like this? Many.

The Christian is not someone with brilliant ideas. Or someone who works constantly. The Christian faith is for the weak and the broken. Because in our brokenness we recognize the importance of reconciling with God. In our weakness we know that we need a Savior.

2905187757_666e58dd85_z

photo credit: Don & Tonya Christner
http://www.flickr.com/photos/52334279@N00/2905187757/in/photolist-5qHR76-5qHReF-5qHRmM-6noXA7-6Cdfre-72p7xv-74ihng-7jdQgc-7jdQgK-7jHB1w-bpnJTP-dxjcZK-dHKQQ1-efQBd4-dDXZoE-bkj585-byeKpL-byf8jd-byftb7-byf8nf-bM9PUn-bM9Qra-byfsDw-byfsgN-bM9AaV-bM9PBg-bM9EiX-bMa9X4-bMab7g-bMacUp-8mQpQr-8x1w1d-8x1wkN-dWWbjF-aqTfq3-7Hecx6-b3aRLn-8To9XM-bCCgRD-bpHkHu-bpHkEA-bpHkxG-bCCgYg-bpHkJN-bCCh5z-bpHkDj-dCBVrM-bM9Qax-bMaa5t-byeTpf-byf6Ko

3 comments on “Brilliant ideas

  1. I am usually humbled in some way when I get “too big for my britches.” Too much brilliance and we don’t learn.

  2. Thanks for your timely reminder that, as the Apostle put it, “Not many of you were wise by human standards; not many were influential…” I forget so often and become puffed up–and useless to Him. “A word, fitly spoken…”

Leave a Reply

