Five minute Friday: Together

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes on: TOGETHER

It’s Friday and the skillet’s hot and sizzling with anticipation for everything that comes together on a weekend. I want to bundle parts of it all up in one piece and get it done, but I have to go through the motions, right? Or do I live it freely and purely and righteously together with my wife and sons?

And in these 300 seconds of short time I’ve been stopped thrice: to play hide-and-seek and to wipe a dirty bottom and to bandage a split toenail on a toe as tiny as a kernel of corn. Even in five minutes I am called to be together with the ones that need me and depend on me. As I depend on them.

On this tickertape of seconds and thirds and interruptions I’m lost as I’ve accidentally reset the stopwatch and don’t know where the time has gone. So now I’ll stop and begin the weekend… together with them.

16 comments on “Five minute Friday: Together

  1. Anita S says:

    I like your take on the topic! You must be very busy, but you obviously handle it well. Have a great weekend!

  2. 2b14u says:

    such a sweet post

  3. As it should be! Enjoy them!

  4. Hope the weekend is going well, my friend. Blessings.

  5. This helped me.. thanks!

  6. lbtk says:

    Vince, you’re such a poet! I have loved being with my husband on this cold rainy day. Sometimes we were side by side, cooking lunch together. Then we watched some television together, sitting side by side, our hands entertwined. He left to take our granddaughter to the doctor for her check-up and I missed him fiercely. My heart did a little thump-thump-thump when I heard the car drive up. I met him at the door with a kiss. Such are the times when togetherness is sweetest — right after we’ve been apart. Sandy

  7. granbee says:

    Such a universe of familial love you have capture in those five minutes. This is much of the way Jesus moved through Galilee with the Twelve, it seems to me!

Leave a Reply

