Little boy fishing

So we went fishing son

with primitive tackle

to the wide river plate.

You so still and intent

so quiet for your nearly

eight years old.

And this father watched you

as you sat waiting.

And my heavenly Father

sits watching me.

Am I so still?

Am I so content?

To fill His eyes

As my son fills mine?

JHR

Related post: Following, From Tammy on her beautiful blog “Wing and a Prayer Farm

Buy a book! Help bring God’s word to those in need

18 comments on “Little boy fishing

  1. brvan71 says:

    So simple, but powerful! Thanks for sharing!

  2. brvan71 says:

    So simple but powerful and moving. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Tammy says:

    oooh, I love this! Very beautiful, thank you for the interesting and meditative reflection, Vince.

    • Vince Chough says:

      Thanks Tammy… I was actually thinking of your post about fishing during this process… I think I’ll add a link to you.

      • Tammy says:

        That is so kind! And thank you, again.
        I definitely find that it is an activity that lends itself to a certain sereneness. I’m not usually participating, but observing, but just being alongside moves me to a quieter place. Bravo, you, for putting it into prose.

  4. monica says:

    Vince,Lovely what you wrote!
    Mamomi

  5. Cristal says:

    And I must ask if my Father is as pleased with my fishing efforts. To be willing to fish as He’d bring me to a pond — fishing for men wherever He leads.

  6. granbee says:

    Oh, dear Brother Vince, He tells us to come to Him like little children; thus, your ending question on this wistful poem is extremely valid and one we all need to ask ourselves.

Leave a Reply

