Giant Killer

Are you facing giants in your life? Is there a big ugly monster standing between you and where you want to be? How do we face down the giants? You gotta have attitude… the attitude of a giant killer.

A giant is something bigger than us. It scares us. It makes our gut wrench in fear of defeat and failure, maybe even death. Yesterday in church the giant grabbed me by the entrails and twisted hard.

“Little man,” the giant growled, “let’s just play nice now. Forget about all your hopes and dreams. It’s all too much for you to handle. Look at me. Look at me I said! Do you really want to go toe-to-toe with this badness? Just keep quiet and keep to yourself. You are making a nuisance of yourself and kidding yourself. This thing called faith? Yes, it sounds all nice and cozy, but in my world, the real world, you better have something more substantial than a fairy tale. I will chew you to shreds, little man. Be smart. Don’t make me hurt you.”

The fear and intimidation choke you. You want to run away, far away from a calling that has led you so far in the wilderness that you stop suddenly in panic trembling, and say almost out loud, “What in the world was I thinking? What in the world am I doing here in this strange land?” Bills piling up, kids’ needs, taxes, grocery bills, the yard overgrown, paint chipping off the walls, they don’t understand, the rent due, car maintenance, a city of violence and protest and hate, this is not how it was supposed to be, everything black, everything wrong,  the world crumbling down around me…”

So there I am, in church with my wife and kids and suddenly I am so very alone. In God’s house, how can this be? Is it all just a lie, some crazy mix up? And the giant grins, “Yes, that’s it. Just hand that thing you call faith over to me, and I won’t bother you any more.” This sensation penetrates to the very core of my soul… it tries to poison that most sacred place. Of near infinite force and depth it produces a genuine physical discomfort. The temptation to embrace it and let it close in on you is tremendous, as the accuser seduces you with an exit so inviting. Stop believing in Jesus and His promises. Let it go already. You’ve had your run, now just stop. Insanity.

My eyes remain fixed upon the giant. He mesmerizes me, and I know I must pass this test. And then I do what I know I must do… let it go. Fall back. Fall back on my knees and huddle under the wings of the Giant Killer. In His presence I am strong again. Let it go again like so many times before into His loving arms. Those strong arms that lift me up upon my feet and say… “You, yes you, are the giant killer. Take him down.”

Every Christian engages in this battle against our weakness, our doubts, our defeats, our fear, our shame and our sorrow. And it is exactly through that door, the place of deepest fear, where the Lord enters and seals His victory. Against a world that supplies us with limitless alternatives all juicy and enticing and all so dead. So I go forth again. Into the breech of the battle to lay the enemy low. The giant’s knees buckle with a single stroke of the weapons of the Spirit… the Word of God, the Shield of Faith. Christ’s victory cry: This is My Body, This is My Blood… Take. Gods’ love in these instances is so very intense, it burns you, it consumes you.

Take your giants down. Take them out. Fear not, for you have a mighty Giant Killer that goes forth before you.

(Please buy one of my books and support our work in a poor Argentine community. Get and give!)

JHR

13 comments on “Giant Killer

  1. Very well put. Great picture…creative.

  2. This is so powerful, with it’s gut-wrenching honesty. Thanks so much for this well-written, insightful message.

  3. ansuyo says:

    Love it! Standing behind the giant is an even bigger figure: GOD!

  4. Cristal says:

    Beatifully explained and hopefully absorbed by all. My 12yo and I were out of town last week at a National basketball tournament (his team qualified to play). After the first game, we realized the other teams were REALLY good and very large. Caleb got in the car and began his pity party. “Those kids are just too big, mom. We’ll never win.” My reply, “Okay. So, Goliath was small?”

  5. granbee says:

    A truly helpful and strengthening post, reminding us of Little David’s attitude bearing courage,humility, prayer, love of duty, and effort pebbles in his slingshot bag! Those big bad giants (in my case, the perfectly enunciated words of the proper church ladies who always address technicalities before essence!)

  6. jamie says:

    Glad you beat him! I could not help but wonder if you have read Bruce Wilkinson’s “The Dream Giver”? Great book with great insight. It’s a easy read too, if you have not read it.

    Blessings,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

