Two Poems

 
SONG
 
God. To Him I sing.
For He says ‘I am’.
Through Him I am also.
Through Him all other songs follow.
 
I sing this song not as manifesto,
No delivery meant to serve any certain purpose,
I only ring the bell of my existence,
And even what lies beyond.
 
Yet perhaps this purpose serves me alone,
For the purest note the singer hears alone,
The rest receive dilute tonic tympani.
If I sing faithfully, I sing to God.
 
I offer the fruit of inspiration,
Yet can even my sweet exaltation,
Sing the taste of apple better than one bite?
How much more required to sing epiphany?
 
My song will change life intimately,
As I sing, it’s heard, it alters life.
A force I share with every voice,
For at God’s feet I sing.
 
I have only humble letter notes,
Spelled a million times before,
Rusted open long before my birth.
Only God’s word creates the truly new.
 
So the song I sing begins,
Long ago, the tune I carry onward,
Here I serve every purpose, every truth,
I sing my song to God.
 
TO WHOM I ALSO SING
 
I will sing to all mankind.
The rejoicing, sorrowful, wise, dumb, interested, indifferent sage,
In all of them I find myself, so to all of them I sing.
Take time to hear with open discerning ears,
Give me liberty to speak to all of them.
Longingly, lovingly,
I sing to all mankind.
 

(These poems are taken from my book, Ashes to Eucalyptus)

JHR

 

7 comments on “Two Poems

  1. Sofi says:

    Nice poems Vince! tqm

  2. lbtk says:

    Such imagery! It makes my soul want to sing. Sandy

  3. granbee says:

    Vince, these words are SO totally accurate in my opinion!

    “My song will change life intimately,

    As I sing, it’s heard, it alters life.

    A force I share with every voice,

    For at God’s feet I sing.”

    Our own praises to God DO indeed change, quite literally, the atmosphere and subconcious of those around us!

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    I really like the title of the book, “Ashes to Eucalyptus” ! God bless you today, and always.

Leave a comment