Deepest wounds and most profound desires

Last week I was out mowing my lawn and got a chance to talk to my neighbor. He´s a good man, but I can tell that he suffers so I invited him to a retreat that I attend here in Buenos Aires twice a year. These retreats have been part of a process that heals my deepest wounds and lets me realize my most profound desires. Maybe compared to others my wounds aren´t that deep, but still, like everyone else, I have them.

“Do you want to be made well?”

This painting by Carl Bloch is incredible. There must be some exposure in order to be healed. Jesus has to look under the covers. How difficult it is for us to be exposed so we put on a tattered mask of strength. Underneath we are like the sick man. Look at the picture. You have to strain a bit to look upon the face of the suffering person in the shadow.

Realizing our most profound desires and healing our deepest wounds are one in the same.

(The painting depicts the healing of the paralytic at the pool of Bethesda from John 5:1-15.)

JHR

Leave a Reply

